long hugs and snugglesauruses


3 Months of eating healthy!
June 8, 2011, 2:22 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Today marks 3 months that Michael and I have been eating healthy.  Michael kind of had a jump start and was already trying to eat better, but he kicked it up a notch and joined me when I was ready to make some changes.  My sister Lori, her husband Jeff, my mom, and our friends Amanda and Jeremy were all doing weight watchers and we were seeing them losing a lot of weight and yet not having a diet control their life in a negative way.  Out of all of them only 1 is actually doing full out weight watchers where you go to the meetings once a week and pay for a membership which made me even more interested that it was something I could do with a low budget and not a lot of extra time.

Anywho, I knew I needed to do something to help me make better choices about portions and cutting back desserts so 3 months ago we decided to give it a try.  We are not going to meetings or paying for a membership.  We pretty much just have a point “slider” that tells you how many points different foods are and an app on our phone to let us know how many points we have left throughout the day.  I have never been a fan of diets that make you think about food all day long, count every calorie, avoid all sweets, or all carbs, etc.  I also knew however that I needed some help with portion sizes, cutting back on fatty foods, and desserts.  So we decided to give it a try.  I have to say I am really loving it.  I love that I can still eat dessert if I want to and most nights we do have something before bed like a couple cookies, popcorn, or cereal.  I also love that I am learning to make better choices for myself and the foods I cook for my family.

As of today I have lost 15lbs, and almost 10″ overall on my body!  I am not one to brag about my weight, but we have worked very hard and I am very happy about the results. I am also about to start a month membership doing Zumba.  I will let you all know how that goes. 🙂

I didn’t really have a before shot, but I found a picture of me and Jackson at his birthday back in February a couple weeks before I started, and one from Thanksgiving.

Before

Back at Thanksgiving

After

I got Michael to take one for me

And of course I will let you see a couple pictures of the kids.

Real men drink from pink cups.

Playing on the porch

Playing while Isabel naps

 

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You look great! It feels so good when you know your making good choices and seeing results. I too did the same thing in college, did the ww program without being a member and for the first time saw results. I’m about to start it up again because my post baby plan with Arabelle wasn’t very successful.
I hope you have fun at ZUMBA. I’ve heard great things. Let me know how it goes.

Comment by Robyn Farmer

That’s awesome Robyn. I hope it goes well for you again! I’m excited about Zumba. I got a month deal half off on groupon 🙂

Comment by tdsteele

You look fabulous!!! It is hard to lose weight post-baby. When i went dairy-free it cut out most of my desserts—or at least the easily accessible ones. Now i make milk-free things from scratch!

I LOVE Zumba! I ahve tried several classes at the Y but that is one of my favorites. I joined the Y about a month ago and am already seeing results. I hope you enjoy it. I find its a great mental break from mommyhood too!

Comment by Katherine

Thanks Katherine! Dairy free has definitely helped me cut out a lot of foods. I miss ice cream so much! Our HEB had some awesome dairy free oatmeal raisin cookies i have grown to love! I also got milk free chocolate chips. I’m really excited to start Zumba.

Comment by tdsteele

Terri, I am so proud of you and Michael. You guys looked awesome at Kevin’s wedding. It’s so cool how this will set up your kids to eat healthy as they see their parents doing it. Way to go!

Comment by Betsy

Thanks Aunt Betsy, you are doing so great too! I’m excited to see us all getting healthy together 🙂

Comment by tdsteele




Leave a Reply

