long hugs and snugglesauruses


Re-purposed Road Side Finds!
May 2, 2011, 3:09 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

The other day my friend Kathryn and I were walking around our neighborhood with Jackson, Isabel, Ewan (her son about 9 months old at the time) and Lane, (a little boy that she watches a few days a week about 4 months old at the time??)  Anyways, we walk past a house where a lady had just put out 2 dressers and a cute little shelf tower.  I asked if she was getting rid of them and she said, Yes! Take them 🙂  I could not have been more thrilled.

Honestly they were already in great shape. I barley even had to wipe them down.

The shelf I didn’t do anything to.  I just put it in Isabel room to hold a couple book and have a place I could put her lamp.

It is in the corner.

Isn't the little heart cut out perfect!

This one we had the A&M students from big event sand and paint. Perfect for Jacksons room.

You can see the quilt I am working on for his toddler bed in this picture!

And my favorite of all I got an idea from a free flyer at Joann craft store.

Took all the drawers out, and knobs off

Cut out batting and fabric a little bigger than the front of each drawer. Then pull it tight and use a staple gun to tack it on along the back of the drawer.

Staples

Perfect addition to my craft room!

Craft Room

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I haven’t seen Jackson’s room in a while – it’s looking great! You’re so creative. That fabric covered dresser looks even better in person. I’ll definitely keep that in mind for future projects! Did you have to poke a hole in the fabric for the drawer pulls to go back through or did you just let the screw made its own hole?

Comment by kathryn

Thanks Kathryn! I pushed the screw from the back to the front and made an itty bitty snip into the fabric with my scissors. Then I just pushed the screw through the rest of the way. The entire project was really super super simple.

Comment by tdsteele

Terri, what great repurposes on the dressers and the heart shelf was perfect for Isabel’s room. I love to repurpose and upcycle pieces and glad to see you doing it too. It reminds me of your mom buying her furniture pieces for her apartment from second hand shops and fixing them up.

Comment by Betsy




Leave a Reply

